MUSEUMS

Brest Regional Museum of Local Lore

Brest Regional Museum of Local Lore is one of the youngest regional museums in Belarus.

The museum was opened in 1950 and includes the Museums of Salvaged Artistic Values representing works of art and antiques, the Berestye Archaeological Museum, the Art Museum and the Kamenets Tower, a unique monument to the ancient Russian defence architecture of the 13th century.

The exposition of the Museum of Local Lore is represented by more than 160 thousand museum items divided into 20 collections including archeological, ethnographic, numismatic, decorative and applied art, painting, graphics, etc. The pride of the museum is the division of nature which contains a large amount of information about natural resources of Brest region, on the protection of the environment.

brest_museum@brest.by

Brest, K. Marx Str. 60; 224030

+375 (162) 20-96-50 booking the excursions
+375 (162) 20-96-46 scientific and educational department
+375 (162) 20-96-48 fax
Opening hours: from 10.00 to 18.00
day off: Monday
Archaeological Museum "Berestye"

The Archaeological Museum "Berestye" is a branch of the Brest Regional Museum of Local Lore.

The unique museum in Belarus was opened in 1982 and is a pavilion in the center of which there is an excavation area of 1118 m² of the ancient settlement of the ancient Brest. At a depth of 4 meters there is a part of the craft quarter – 28 wooden houses and outbuildings of the 13th century, street pavements, fences, remains of adobe stoves. The exposed part of the detinets (stronghold) is a handicraft quarter.

Here rare and interesting findings out of ferrous metal among them razors which are the only ones on the territory of Belarus, were found

Also in the museum various housewares (pots, jugs, bowls, frying pans, scoops) as well as a variety of tools: an ax, an adze, a chisel, a scraper, a drill, a knife, a cutter etc.) are exhibited.

Brest, Brest Fortress, Hospital Island; 224018

Opening hours: from 10.00 to 18.00 (March-October)
from 10.00 to 17.00 (November-February)
Closed: Monday, Tuesday
From March 1 to October 1 without days off
Winter Garden

The Winter Garden is an educational and methodical complex of the Pushkin State University. The garden is divided into three climatic zones: the tropics, subtropics and deserts.

For each zone a distinctive climate and soil is maintained which allows growing the corresponding plants. In the tropics you can admire ferns and orchids, in the subtropics you can see the trees of lemons and pomegranates, and in the desert there is a good collection of Haworthia, Gasteria, Agave, spurges and various cacti.

Brest, Mickiewicz Str. 28/1 (Brest A.S.PushkinState University)

Museums of Salvaged Artistic Values

The Museum of Salvaged Artistic Values is part of the Museum of Local Lore and is open to visitors since 1989. This is the only museum in the country representing works of art and antiques confiscated by customs officers at attempt of their illegal export abroad.

The exposition of the museum is located in 10 rooms in the building-monument of architecture built in 1925–1927. Here you can see a collection of Russian icons of the XVI– early XX century, Rostov enamel, jewelry of the world famous Faberge company. The hall of Oriental art presents traditional Japanese batik, Chinese vases, Japanese faience, Buddhist sculptures of the late XIX – early XX century. The pearl of the drawing room is the sketch of M. Vrubel to his painting "Demon Defeated". A significant part of museum items primarily icons and paintings requires restoration.

Brest, LeninStr.; 224030

Openinghours: from 10.00 to 18.00
Closedon: Monday
Museum of Railway Engineering

The museum dedicated to railways and railway equipment was opened in Brest in 2002. The initiative to open the museum belongs to the veteran of labour, the eminent railwayman, the first director of the museum Arkady Privetenia.

The museum is a collection of 68 samples of full-scale railway equipment in the open air on three exhibition railway tracksof 1,2 km long. A characteristic feature of the museum is that all exhibits including locomotives of the prewar, military and post-war generations as well as locomotives and wagons are in working condition which allows them to be used for sightseeing trips and filming.

ksc-muzei@brestrw.by

Brest, Masherov Ave. 2

Museum of the History of Brest

The Museum of the History of the City of Brest opened its doors in 1998 in a building built in 1922, but the idea of creating the museum existed in the pre-war time and assumed the museum's location in the premises of the Kholm Gate of the Brest Fortress. At that time the teacher of geography V.Mondalsky and the officer of the fortress garrison T. Zhuk-Rybitsky began to collect material for the museum and the local historian M.Alekseyuk wrote a monograph "History of Brest".

Today in the permanent exposition of the Museum of History of Brest there are more than 800 exhibits that tell about the history of the city from its foundation in 1019 to 1939.

Brest, Levanevsky Str. 3

Museum of Defence of the Brest Fortress

The Museum of Defence of the Brest Fortress was opened in 1956 in the defensive barracks of the fortress which is the monument of architecture of the late XIX century.

The basis for the creation of the museum was a room-museum which was opened a few months earlier on the ground floor of the barracks of the engineer battalion of the 128th Rifle Corps where before that the room of the Battle Glory was opened. Objects of excavation, material on defence of the fortress were demonstrated here. In the future the exposition of the museum was replenished with historical items from Moscow and Leningrad.

Today, the exhibition halls occupy an area of 1000 m², on the 1st floor of the museum there is an exhibition of portraits of defenders of the fortress, paintings and sketches of the artist P.Durchin.

Brest, Brest Fortress

Opening hours: 9:00 to 18:00
The ticket office is open until 17:30
Free admission: last Friday of each month
Art Museum

The Art Museum is a branch of the Museum of Local Lore and carries out educational activities since 2002 in the building of the southern barracks of the Brest Fortress.

The exposition of the museum is represented by a collection of fine and decorative and applied art on the basis of exhibits of the Brest Regional Museum of Local Lore. In 10 exposition halls the works of artists of the XX – beginning of the XXI century are presented, three halls are devoted to painting and sculpture, separate works are devoted to graphic art, decorative and applied art.

Folk art is also widely covered: we can see works of weaving and embroidery, pottery, straw and osier weaving, painting on wood and glass, artistic processing of wood, works of amateur artists.

Brest, Brest Fortress, South Barracks; 224018

Opening hours: from 10.00 to 18.00 (March-October)
from 10.00 to 17.00 (November-February)
Closed: Monday, Tuesday
"The Museum of War is the Territory of Peace"

The museum was opened on June 22, 2014 in the south-eastern barracks of the Brest Fortress (not far from the monument "Thirst")

In eight halls there are exhibits from the funds of the museum of the fortress. A distinctive feature of the exposition is the use of modern technologies.

In addition to museum items which number more than two thousand you can look through the e-book of memory, get interesting information through an interactive screen, walk through the three-arch gates under the starry sky.

Brest, Brest Fortress

Opening hours: from 10:00 to 19:00.
The ticket office is open until 18:30.
Closed: Tuesday
Free admission is the last Friday of every month.
The Fifth Fort of the Brest Fortress

The fifth fort (fort V) was built in 1878 - 1888, modernized in 1908 - 1911. Located 4 km south-west of the Brest Fortress in the Gershony neighborhood of Brest.

Occupies an area of 0.79 km2. The fifth fort was one of the defensive objects of the Brest-Litovsk fortress of the first line. The fort has a pentagonal shape. It was erected from a brick, surrounded by an earth rampart, a moat filled with water. In the rear part a barracks for the garrison numbering eleven casemates.

In the frontal part there was a front caponier (a fortification structure capable of conducting fire in two opposite directions) for six guns connected with the barracks by the underground corridor linking various fort buildings with each other.

Brest (village of Gershony), Starodorozhnaya Str. 99

+375 (162) 55-54-75 (the Head of the branch)
Working hours: from 9.00 to 18.00 (without days off)

Музеи

Брестский областной краеведческий музей

Брестский областной краеведческий музей является одним из самых молодых областных краеведческих музеев в Беларуси.

Музей был открыт в 1950 году и в его состав вошли музеи Спасенные художественные ценности, представляющий произведения искусства и антиквариата, археологический музей Берестье, Художественный музей, а также Каменецкая башня - уникальный памятник древнерусского оборонного зодчества ХIII века.

Экспозиция краеведческого музея представлена более 160 тысячами музейных предметов, разделенных на 20 коллекций, среди которых археологическая, этнографическая, нумизматическая, декоративно-прикладного искусства, живописи, графики и др. Гордостью музея является раздел природы, где собрано большое количество информации, рассказывающей о природных богатствах Брестчины, об охране окружающей среды.

brest_museum@brest.by

г. Брест, ул. К. Маркса, 60; 224030

+375 (162) 20-96-50 (заказ экскурсий)
+375 (162) 20-96-46 (научно-просветительный отдел)
+375 (162) 20-96-48 (факс)
Время работы: с 10.00 до 18.00
выходной: понедельник
Археологический музей "Берестье"

Археологический музей Берестье является филиалом Брестского краеведческого музея.

Уникальный музей в Беларуси был открыт в 1982 году и представляет собой павильон, в центре которого находится раскоп площадью 1118 м² городища древнего Бреста. На глубине 4 метров находится часть ремесленного квартала – 28 деревянных жилых и хозяйственных построек XIII века, уличные мостовые, частокол, остатки глинобитных печей. Вскрытая часть детинца являлется ремесленным кварталом. Здесь были обнаружены редкие и интересные находки из черного металла, среди которых - бритвы, на территории Беларуси они являются единственными.

Также в музее представлена найденная берестейская посуда (горшки, кувшины, миски, сковороды, ковшики) разнообразные инструменты: топор, тесло, долото, скобель, сверло, нож, резец и др.

г. Брест, Брестская крепость, Госпитальный остров; 224018

Время работы: с 10.00 до 18.00 (март-октябрь)
с 10.00 до 17.00 (ноябрь-февраль)
Выходной: понедельник, вторник
С 1 марта по 1 октября без выходных дней
Зимний сад

Зимний сад является учебно-методическим комплексом государственного университета имени Пушкина. Территория сада разделена на три климатические зоны: тропики, субтропики и пустыни.

Для каждой зоны выдержан характерный климат и почва, что позволило выращивать соответствующие растения. В тропиках можно полюбоваться папоротниками и орхидеями, в субтропиках продемонстрированы деревья лимонов и гранатов, а в пустыне представлена хороша коллекция гавортии, гастерии, агавы, молочаев и разнообразных кактусов.

г. Брест, ул. Мицкевича, д.28/1 (УО БрГУим.А.С.Пушкина)

+375 (162) 26-17-57 (дежурный)
Музей спасенных ценностей

Музей Спасенные художественные ценности входит в состав краеведческого музея и открыт для посещения с 1989 года. Это единственный музей в стране, представляющий произведения искусства и предметы антиквариата, конфискованные таможенниками при попытке незаконного вывоза их за рубеж.

Экспозиция музея размещена в 10 залах в здании-памятнике архитектуры, построенном в 1925 – 1927 гг. Здесь можно увидеть коллекцию русских икон XVI — начала XX века, ростовскую финифть, ювелирные изделия всемирно известной фирмы Фаберже. В зале искусства Востока представлена традиционный японский батик, китайские вазы, японский фаянс, буддийские скульптуры конца XIX — начала XX века. Жемчужиной зала графики является эскиз М.Врубеля к его картине "Демон поверженный". Значительная часть музейных предметов, в первую очередь икон и картин, требует реставрации.

г. Брест, ул. Ленина,39; 224030

Время работы: с 10.00 до 18.00
Выходной: понедельник
Музей железнодорожной техники

Музей, посвящённый железным дорогам и железнодорожной технике, был открыт в Бресте в 2002 году. Инициатива открытия музея принадлежит ветерану труда, заслуженному железнодорожнику, первому директору брестского музея Аркадию Приветеню.

Музей представляет собой коллекцию из 68 образцов натурной железнодорожной техники под открытым небом на трех экспозиционных путях длиной 1,2 км. Характерной чертой музея является то, что все экспонаты, включая паровозы довоенного, военного и послевоенного поколений, а также локомотивы и вагоны - в рабочем состоянии, что позволяет использовать их в экскурсионных поездках и киносъемках.

ksc-muzei@brestrw.by

г. Брест, ул. Машерова, д.2

Музей истории города Бреста

Музей истории города Бреста открыл свои двери в 1998 году в здании постройки 1922 года, однако идея создания музея существовала в довоенное время и предполагала размещение музея в помещении Холмских ворот Брестской крепости. В то время учитель географии В.Мондальский и офицер крепостного гарнизона Т. Жук-Рыбицкий стали собирать материал для музея, а краевед М.Алексеюк написал монографию "История Бреста".

Сегодня в постоянно действующей экспозиции музея истории Бреста представлено более 800 экспонатов, которые рассказывают об истории города, начиная с его основания в 1019 году и до 1939 года.

г. Брест, ул. Леваневского, д.3

Музей обороны Брестской крепости

Музей обороны Брестской крепости был открыт в 1956 году в оборонительной казарме крепости-памятнике архитектуры конца XIX века.

Основой создания музея стала комната-музей, открывшаяся несколькими месяцами ранее на первом этаже казармы саперного батальона 128-го стрелкового корпуса, где до этого была открыта комната Боевой славы. Здесь демонстрировались предметы раскопок, материал об обороне крепости. В дальнейшем экспозиция музея пополнялась историческими предметами из г.Москвы и г.Ленинграда.

Сегодня экспозиционные залы занимают площадь 1000 м², на 1-м этаже музея размещена выставка портретов защитников крепости, картины и эскизы, выполненные художником П.Дурчиным.

г. Брест, Брестская крепость

Время работы: с 9:00 до 18:00
Касса работает до 17:30
Бесплатное посещение: последняя пятница каждого месяца
Художественный музей

Художественный музей является филиалом краеведческого музея и ведет просветительскую деятельность с 2002 года в здании южной казармы Брестской крепости.

Экспозиция музея представлена коллекцией изобразительного и декоративно-прикладного искусства на основе экспонатов Брестского областного краеведческого музея. В 10 экспозиционных залах представлены работы художников ХХ - начала ХХІ века, три зала посвящены живописи и скульптуре, отдельно располагаются работы, посвященные графическому искусству, декоративно-прикладному искусству.

Также широко охвачено народное художественное творчество: здесь можно увидеть работы ткачества и вышивки, гончарство, соломо- и лозоплетение, роспись по дереву и стеклу, художественную обработку дерева, произведения самодеятельных художников.

г. Брест, Брестская крепость, Южная казарма; 224018

Время работы: с 10.00 до 18.00 (март-октябрь)
с 10.00 до 17.00 (ноябрь-февраль)
Выходной: понедельник, вторник
«Музей войны - территория мира»

Музей открыт 22 июня 2014г. в юго-восточной казарме Брестской крепости (недалеко от памятника «Жажда»)

В восьми залах разместились экспонаты из фондов музея крепости. Отличительной чертой экспозиции является использование современных технологий.

Помимо музейных предметов, которых насчитывается более двух тысяч, тут можно полистать электронную книгу памяти, получить интересующую информацию с помощью интерактивного экрана, пройтись через трехарочные ворота под звездным небом...

г. Брест, Брестская крепость

Время работы: с 10:00 до 19:00.
Касса работает до 18:30.
Выходной: вторник
Бесплатное посещение — последняя пятница каждого месяца.
Пятый форт Брестской крепости

Пятый форт (форт V) построен в 1878 – 1888 гг., модернизировался в 1908 – 1911 гг. Расположен в 4 км юго-западнее Брестской крепости в микрорайоне Гершоны г. Бреста.

Занимает площадь – 0,79 км2. 5 форт входил в число оборонительных объектов Брест-Литовской крепости первой линии. Форт имеет пятиугольную форму. Был воздвигнут из кирпича, обнесён земляным валом, рвом, заполненным водой. В тыльной части была построена казарма для гарнизона, насчитывающая одиннадцать казематов, обвалованная землёй со стороны напольного фаса.

Во фронтальной части находился передний капонир (фортификационное сооружение, способное вести огонь в двух противоположных направлениях) на шесть орудий, соединённый с казармой центральной потерной (подземный коридор, связывающий различные строения форта между собой).

г. Брест (д. Гершоны), ул. Стародорожная, 99

+375 (162) 55-54-75 (заведующий филиалом)
Время работы: с 9.00 до 18.00 (без выходных)